Space 1999 Helmet

TazMan2000

Master Member
I've decided to create a new thread and not plug up the "3D Creations" thread (https://www.therpf.com/forums/threads/post-pics-of-your-own-3d-creations-not-purchased.341960/0) with stuff in progress.

To recap, I quickly designed a helmet in 123D Design but wasn't satisfied with the output. The Space 1999 helmet has some complex curves. It was based off of the vintage Bell Star helmet. I believe a shell was created in fiberglass with some extra details. Everything was going well until I started designing the "scoop". I call it the scoop since it looks similar to a hood scoop off of a muscle car. You would think it would be simple enough, but putting a skin over the topology was very frustrating since the geometry would fail in once place or another, necessitating several redesigns of the geometry. It doesn't help that I'm still learning Plasticity as I go.

I started with this...a bit rough, not very accurate as to shape. If anyone has the rough measurements to the helmet, I would appreciate the input, so I can at least make it close to the same size.

Space 1999 Helmet 1.png

I corrected some tangency issues for a more smoother transition between pieces. I work on half the helmet at a time and mirror occasionally so that I can see if it still looks ok. The scoop actually has 5 holes in the front rather than an intake as in my first picture. From what I've learned so far, I hope to do a better job on the visor.
Helmet 7.png
Helmet 8.png
Helmet 9.png

TazMan2000

Good idea to start a new thread Taz. (y)(y) Difficult helmet with all of those curves. With your talent, I'm sure it'll be fantastic:cool::cool: