SuperheroDIY

(trying to move this out of the Marvel forum as that seems geared more to MCU stuff)

More pics and a gallery over on my website: Armored Spider-Man Costume - Part 1

Well, after months and months and months of work, I finally have an Armored Spider-Man costume (Spider Armor MK1) that I can put on! This is something that I've been working on since May 2020, and just now (Dec 2020) am at the point where I can put it on. It's been a ton of work!

This all started because I was cruising Do3D.com for some cool files and came across this great set of files for an Armored Spider-Man suit. I think I even got a discount on it so you know I had to pick it up!

d1955010b1d695932ddc6d03fa258325_480x480.jpg

After scaling the armor as best I could using Armorsmith Designer, I printed out and finished the helmet first, then all the armor pieces.

IMG_5966_480x480.jpg

The helmet was easiest because it had a LOT of smooth surfaces and minimal webbing compared to the armor pieces. It was also the most fun and rewarding piece. After sanding it thoroughly, I primered and painted it. Then I printed out the lens "rings", and applied this really cool metal mesh to the inside! This mesh is excellent because unlike other Spider-Man lenses, these won't fog up because there's no need for a reflective film! These are shiny and really fine mesh, yet let air through! I also used some elastic to hold the back piece to the main helmet body, which lets me get my head in and out of the helmet.

IMG_6827_480x480.jpg

IMG_6828_480x480.jpg

I used the Creality CR-10S S4 that I'd purchased from Tiny Machines 3D to print the helmet, shin armor, chest, abs, and back pieces. Luckily this was before all the issues I had with it later as a result of all the upgrades.

I used the Prusa MK3S to print the greeblies like the hand armor, forearms, elbows, back spider, shoulders, tricep, and knee armor.

IMG_6056_480x480.jpg

IMG_6177_480x480.jpg