Simple/Easier Prop Builds For a Beginner With Little Experience

kaidennett

Hi All,
I'm quite new to prop building and was hoping for some suggestions for easier/simpler prop builds. I want to start building my skills because what I have done with prop building I have found quite enjoyable but want to start to really expand. If it helps I love sci-fi a lot so anything in that genre I would love but I mainly just want to create. Thanks for taking the time to read this I hope you are all doing well!

Pick up one of Roman Props Graflex lightsaber kits. Super easy to assemble, and you'll have an iconic prop replica when you're finished.

Sean

I agree with making a lightsaber. Either from a kit or design your own. If you design your own however it turns out you can say "thats what I was going for".

depending on what you want to practice at, there's different things you can do.

if you just want to produce a finished prop that looks awesome, you can get some sort of kit, that doesn't require sanding or painting.

if you want to practice your bondo and sanding, I'd suggest a simple pepekura based prop, like a pair of bracers, or a very simple helmet (this will also let you practice base coating with paint, and final paint jobs too)

if you'd like to practice painting and weathering things, a trip to your local toy store for a nerf gun, a plastic sword, or any other "cheap available prop", and just start repainting it. assuming the thing you pick isn't to expensive, this has the added benefit of letting you get 2-3 of the same exact thing, try different painting techniques on them, and literally have them all side by side so you can tell which methods you like more.

and if you want to start casting, just buy a little simple shaped toy (possibly the same "knife" toy you pick up to repaint) and get some rudimentary casting materials (surprisingly cheap) and start making a few of your own.