Rocketeer Helmet not movie acurate

strengthof10men

This is my first build and also my first post. I love the Rocketeer movie and then the comic and have always wanted to own the helmet but could never afford to buy one. Frustration got to me and I decided I would just have to make my own. that’s how I discovered this website. I found a pep file and set to work. I have to confess I did this about six months ago and I can’t remember where I found the file.
I assembled the helmet but it was too big so I reduced it to 85%

View attachment 76624

View attachment 76625

View attachment 76626

I used car body filler and sanded it down. I repeated this until smooth. I then spray painted it and sanded that down to fill in all the scratches and pin holes.

View attachment 76630

I couldn’t figure out how to make the lenses so I went into town and bought a cheep pair of woman’s sunglasses. The kind with the huge lenses. I took the arms of and sawed through the bridge of the nose. I then turned them upside down. Cut the holes out of the helmet by drilling a hole where the eyes had to be then took the blade out of my saw and stuck it through the hole and sawed the openings out.

I took the lenses out of the frame and put them somewhere safe because I didn’t want to scratch them. Since the car body filler made the helmet rigid I could get the lenses back in. so I had to take a craft knife and scrap of some material until the popped back in.

View attachment 76630

View attachment 76631

View attachment 76632

I used masking tape to mark where I thought the raised lines should go.

View attachment 76636

Last edited:
I didn’t think that the helmet would be finished unless I had something to wear under it. So I searched the internet for weeks until I found an army and navy store that sold aviator caps. I could have got one sooner but all the other websites where in America and I live in England so the postage would have made the whole thing too expensive.

View attachment 76637