Metro 2033/Last Light ranger cosplay (first time costume design/builder)

arenTheFox

Okay, so as the title suggests, I'm trying to build a cosplay outfit for a Polis ranger from the Metro video game series.
This is my first time building any kind of costume, and I think I may have gotten too far ahead of myself or was too ambitious.
The part of the cosplay that seems to be the most difficult - and the part I decided was best to do first - is the helmet, which is pictured in the spoiler tag below.
YLw2N50.jpg
MetroLL-2013-05-19-11-21-17-60.jpg
2013-05-09_00005.jpg
Now, the helmet features the ability to open and lift the entire face, which personally, would sound like a major obstacle. Fortunately, I was lucky enough to score a snowmobile helmet off a family member that does just that. It's pictured below under the spoiler tag.
20140310_025216_zps103ae64b.jpg20140310_025226_zpsdf11db9b.jpg9fa7d7a8-eff1-4eb4-a66e-9be303d7ea03_zpsfed9c8fc.jpg20140310_025331_zps2125aba5.jpg

My plan here is likely pretty obvious; make this helmet into the ranger one by building the features of the ranger one onto the outside of the existing snowmobile one. The visor on my helmet opens up as well, but that's irrelevant as I don't plan to keep that capability once it's turned into the ranger one.

Basically, I would like some help determining what materials to use to build the outside of the helmet, how to keep the outside from coming off the base, and keep the helmet's ability to open up the face, as pictured above.

Personally I think your snow mobile helmet is a touch too big to build stuff around it, that Metro one looks like you could just do a quick fibreglass mould over a bowl and mod a respirator as it looks more like an open faced helmet.

Anyway, if you want to go the other route, epoxy glue is good for sticking hard plastics together, maybe incorporate a bit of pepakura for some of the details or foam, tends to be a safe bet.