Majora's Mask

Discussion in 'Replica Props' started by Jester5891, Apr 5, 2012.

1. Jester5891

Jester5891 New Member

First off hello to everyone this is my first post and project on these forums (I just found out that I was on the imposter site when I posted this the first time, but that's old news to most of you I'm sure). I have some experience with replica prop building from building a Ghostbusters Proton pack, which was very complicated and time consuming but also very fun. However I decided I needed a new project that was not so intense. So I decided on Majora's Mask. It would be somewhat of a challenge since I have not really worked with clay like is before, but I will be in familiar territory with the mold. Looking through the forums I found some mention of the mask but I did not see any build theads. So maybe this will be a bit unique.

Anyway on to the build. The first thing I did was to make a template so that I had a perfectly simetrical outline to build the base shape of the mask which is a big heart. By the way I used plastalina clay (I think thats how its spelled I'm not at home as I write this so I can't check). Would there have been a better clay to use?

[​IMG]

Here it is all smoothed out and ready to start the detailing.
    [​IMG]

This is my first attempt at the eye detailing. They ended up being to close together. But I reused some techniques I learned from this. I found a coaster that had just about the perfect diameter for the eyes and I used that to press a perfect circle into the clay and mark where the eyes will go.
    [​IMG]