First Foam Build: Iron Man

Discussion in 'Marvel Costumes and Props' started by BlueSteel, May 19, 2015.

1. BlueSteel

BlueSteel Guest

Hey rpf-ers,
    I'm new to this forum (actually, forums in general) so I apologize for filling the site up with threads of stupid questions :facepalm Figured I'd finally post a progress thread on my Mark III foam
    suit so here it is! And please I'd really like to see some feedback on the quality of the foam-work, good or bad! Also, this is my first build.
    image.jpg
    image.jpg
    image.jpg

dejordzta, Jmen and George like this.
  2. Armorer

Armorer New Member

Great :)

3. BlueSteel

BlueSteel Guest

Thanks! Any specifics?

4. blue2k

blue2k Well-Known Member

I think this would benefit from smoother cuts (scalpel blade etc) and a little heat treating to fix the form, but apart from that it is very neat.

5. BlueSteel

BlueSteel Guest

Definelty could have used some heat-forming, but I haven't a heat gun nor the money to buy one, as most of my funds need to go towards the ridiculously overpriced smoothon epsilon, along with paint and primer. Is it too late to heat form, and I'm guessing you're talking about the lack of curvature in the chest plate? Thanks for posting, and "neat" like cool or "neat" like clean? XD

6. Venomsuit

Venomsuit Member

You are on track for an awesome suit!
    What type of foam are you using to build this?

7. blue2k

blue2k Well-Known Member

Heat guns in England can be bought quite cheaply for around £25, they are kind of essential for foam work. Buying an expensive finishing product (like episilon) before buying basic tools is a bit "horse before the cart". It will trip you up at some point. My advice if you will take it? Buy a heat gun as soon as you can (or even borrow one for the job).

1: You can heat treat EVA foam at any point while unpainted. Treating after painting risks ruining the paint job (but it can be done if careful).