Beginner Replicas?

allegedlynerdy

Hello!
I'm new to the world of replica props, and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for good starter projects that would introduce me to some of the basic skills of the trade. I have done a fair amount of scale modeling before through kits, so I feel confident I have a basic understanding of some techniques. If anyone has any tips/tricks those would also be appreciated!

What are you into? I usually pick my favorite movie and see what props I'm interested in replicating.

Hello!
I'm new to the world of replica props, and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for good starter projects that would introduce me to some of the basic skills of the trade. I have done a fair amount of scale modeling before through kits, so I feel confident I have a basic understanding of some techniques. If anyone has any tips/tricks those would also be appreciated!
I am sure you will get a ton of great advice really quick... I just wanted to say welcome aboard. :)

I'd say start with some simple hand props, maybe someone a bit detailed that you can work on for a while or try different techniques out of, (i.e., fake metal finishing, weathering techniques) My first prop was a 3D printed mangalore grenade from the fifth element it really allowed me to use different skills, from assembly to final finishing and display.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

A NERF repaint is a really easy way to dip your toes in the water. Past that...I'd look at putting together a resin kit; be a lot of the same skills you've already developed.

Yeah, agreed. Get your hands on a moderately priced DIY kit and/or figurine and learn the process of maker.

Those two are perfect as introductions IMO, because they teach you a mindset. Like organization, planning, etc. Because when you need to apply primer, lay a basecoat, etc etc, it's a big learning curve.