Beneath the Planet of the Apes "Mutant Leader" Build

The Freshcoast

Hello all,

My name is Nate and this is my first attempt at replicating a character.
A little background, I am a full-time graphic designer by profession (8 years and going strong), a screen printer by trade, and a sculptor by passion. I am also a big movie geek and have always been a tinkerer since I was young and made life size monsters for my parents front yard and even a complete haunted house in our basement one year. But enough with the boring stuff!

I am creating this get-up for my hometown of Detroit's Theatre Bizzare on Oct 19th
This event is seriously awesome, I highly suggest checking it out! Theatre Bizarre | The Greatest Masquerade on Earth

I have given myself a loose budget of around $200 to complete this and have ordered most of the materials, they should be arriving within the week or so. This budget was set not only to keep myself from splurging but also as a challenge for me to use found materials I can modify to suit my needs (Hopefully that is allowed on this forum, this is for personal use only)

Like I stated previously this is my first build and because of that I chose one that I knew I had the skills to complete in this compressed time frame. I have always loved the scene in Beneath where the mutants "reveal" themselves to their god so I am looking to replicate that scenes design specifically.
Below are a few images I have found in my research:
bomb.jpgMendez5.jpgthe-mutants.jpgMutant Mask 13 5-27-13.jpg

The costume will consist of seven components:
- "Skinless" Mask
- Robe with Cowl neck
- Inner robe with head covering
- Tan Tracksuit
- Gloves
- Boots
- Metal Bomb Pin

So far I have acquired

Robe with Cowl neck Materials
- $36 for 4 yards