Tooth arrangement for you sculptors.....

vaderdarth

Master Member
Hi guys, as most of you know I am a dentist. I see many wonderful sculpts of 1:1 busts come down the pike on this forum and I always notice the same issues with the sculpts when the teeth are visible. Keep these rules in mind when "setting your teeth" to your sculptures:

1. The bottoms of the upper teeth typically run parrallel to a plane which crosses thru the alar of the nose and runs to the tragus of the ear. What this means is that if you look at a human head in profile, draw a line from the little round "flap in the ear that covers the "ear hole" and it goes to the rounded bump on the outside of the sides of the nose above the lip. Your upper teeth should fall roughly one inch below this line when viewed in profile.

2. There is a curvature on which the teeth are set which we call the "Curve of Spee" and the "curve of wilson". The curve of spee line runs front to back, the curve of wilson runs side to side. Combined they make a bowl shape. This is if you took a plane and set it on the two imaginary lines in #1. The you take a softball, set it in the dead center of this plane and push downward roughly 1/4". Now the plane is a large bowl shape and the bottom of the bowl is pointing down towards your feet. All the teeth both upper and lower should be set so that they rest one inch below this curved plane (for adults) when the teeth are fully closed (clenched) together.

3. The lower teeth fit inside the upper teeth. No matter how you look at the teeth, either in profile or from the front, the upper teeth should be overlapping the lower teeth by a few millimeters. The outside cusps of the lower molars and premolars, should fit between the outer and inner cusps of the upper molars and premolars.

4. all the teeth should be perpendicular to the curve of spee.

Here are diagrams that illustrate this relationship of an ideal tooth arrangement:

BHDIII_16.gif