Tomenosuke blaster assembly kit tips and tricks, help the new builders

Discussion in 'Replica Props' started by eethan, Jul 12, 2017.

1. eethan

eethan Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

2. Bash

Bash Well-Known Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 8, 2018
  3. Bash

juajn7fernandez and el toro like this.
  4. veektohr

veektohr Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Last edited: Jul 13, 2017
    MANDINGALOW, Buch and eethan like this.
  5. eethan

6. NeilDavies

NeilDavies New Member

Well this is the thread I need to read :)

I just started painting, polishing etc the parts of the kit - as I'm pretty much a novice with this sort of thing, please don't anyone take what I do as the right way to do anything - it almost certainly isn't, as i'm sure to find out :)

I polished the metal parts first with P600 3M wet and dry paper, then with a Dremel and polishing compound. Seemed to go ok. I'm not after a super-mirror finish. For the black painted parts I actually used some gloss black engine paint I had lying around and thinned it to go through an airbrush. Again, seemed to go ok. I've already weathered some of those parts too. The grips I polished again with the Dremel and I used a car polish (Autoglym super-resin polish) which did a nice job (one done and one not in the pic below).

Please feel free to rant at me for sullying such an expensive kit with my terrible techniques :) Any advice welcome. I've got the Birchwood Casey bluing kit which I'll be cracking open tomorrow :)

19956962_10155500784079913_4839607399183249485_o.jpg 19983546_10155500783839913_4742730278405928425_o.jpg 19955892_10155500784434913_5369164260918840157_o.jpg

veektohr and eethan like this.
  7. Bash

8. NeilDavies

NeilDavies New Member

Yes exactly. I've gone over most things in the photos another time so they look a little better now.