Solo blaster: Greedo Killer or not?

Discussion in 'Replica Props' started by southcenter, Feb 26, 2006.

1. southcenter

southcenter Active Member

Ok, so I'm still new to props (not that the "new user" tag on the left isn't a giveaway) and I just recently found out that the blaster in the Greedo scene (the Greedo killer) is different from the one used throughout the rest of the movie.

My questions are thus:

Is there a good place to check out the differences between the two before trying to track down either for purchase?

Which one is the MR LE?

Thanks guys,

Patrick

2. damon5973

damon5973 Well-Known Member

3. RedTwoX

RedTwoX Sr Member

The MR LE is the "Hero". That is going to easier to find to parts for because that's the version most people think of when imagining Han Solo's blaster. The Greedo Killer is more "obscure". Most people probably don't even realize that a different prop was used in that scene.

4. Prop Runner

Prop Runner Sr Member

:p Vince of Corellian Exports, you seek. :D

http://www.rpf.invisionzone.com/index.php?showtopic=104432

Screen cap from the "draw" scene:

[​IMG]

From the Chronicles:

[​IMG]

and from a post-production publicity still:

[​IMG]

Here's my GK buildup, purchased from another member here:

[​IMG]

Notice that in the movie screen grab, the front ring is behind the scope's windage & elevation knobs, while in the Chronicles and publicity shot, the front ring is in front of the knobs, and the rings are different than the screen-used ones:

Screen-used:

[​IMG]

Post production:

[​IMG]

Guess they had to let the continuity guy go before they took those pics.

This blaster is DEFINITELY one I'd love to see MR offer. :D

- Gabe

5. batninja

batninja Well-Known Member

Those are great pics, Gabe. Now I might have to switch conversions. I always did like the long scope-look of the ANH.

6. southcenter

Well this info certianly spells it all out for me. Thanks.