Shaak Ti's Lightsaber

Selk

This is Shaak Ti, I made this a few years ago, but I need to take to the next level. Namely, she doesn't have a proper lightsaber.

I have a lightsaber that is made out of cardboard and foam but it is now falling apart and I would like one made out of metal. I have never made a lightsaber, I wouldn't know where to start. Help would be appreciated.

I'm no expert on scratch-building or hardware sabers (I'm a machinist), but that saber (the Adi Gallia) isn't terribly difficult or intricate. I would think you could make a pretty good replica with some PVC or aluminum pipe for the body, some washers for the emitter, some epoxy to hold it all together, and a couple cans of spray paint.

Not sure how you'd make the pommel off the top of my head but...different size washers and some bondo or some other kind of filler should get you close.

The LEDs should be available at Radio Shack or online.

I'm no expert on scratch-building or hardware sabers (I'm a machinist), but that saber (the Adi Gallia) isn't terribly difficult or intricate. I would think you could make a pretty good replica with some PVC or aluminum pipe for the body, some washers for the emitter, some epoxy to hold it all together, and a couple cans of spray paint.

Not sure how you'd make the pommel off the top of my head but...different size washers and some bondo or some other kind of filler should get you close.

The LEDs should be available at Radio Shack or online.

The pommel shouldn't be too difficult. Try trimming down a funnel, and filling it. As for the LED, a Seoul P4 is probably your best bet.

Lots of good lightsaber resources at FX-Sabers.com - Index. You might even find a build thread for that hilt.

If you pay for shipping/packaging, I'll send you the brass part for free.
I have an extra from and Adi Galia lighstaber I converted to an Aayla Secura to give to Amy Allen several years ago. It's still in my junk drawer. You want it, it's yours.