My First Rocketeer Helmet!

Discussion in 'Replica Props' started by slimesquare, Apr 2, 2012.

1. slimesquare

slimesquare Well-Known Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

So this is my first attempt at a Rocketeer helmet. This helmet was picked up at the HMS prop sale, and it's a very quality cast done by HMS. It had very little clean up work that needed to be done after some solid areas were cleaned out.

so heres the beginning
    [​IMG]

and heres after the first clean up
    [​IMG]

This was after I installed the head fin and primed the whole helmet
    [​IMG]

And finally after some rub n' buff and some debating if I did too much weathering
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

this is what I have so far....I've put in an order for the helmet liner and I'll have lenses made tomorrow so I can install them. I have more pictures from different angles that I will try and post later.

Thanks guys

2. GeordieIndy

GeordieIndy Well-Known Member

Looks great!!

I really need to do some research into the best helmets out there. I think in the future when I can get some money together I will purchase a Rocketeer helmet, they look very classy!!

Cheers,

Andy

3. Strickler

Strickler Well-Known Member

Though im no expert on little or too much weathering I think its look amazing.

4. GeneralFROSTY

GeneralFROSTY Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

That is a very clean looking kit. These are fun helmets to work on.

5. Filandrius

Filandrius Well-Known Member

While the weathering looks a little bit much, it looks great. You did a bang-up job, that helmet is going to be a masterpiece. :)

6. slimesquare

ok so day two consisted of making the lenses

[​IMG]

I cut some lexan and heated it so it was soft so it would bend nicely and then they were installed

[​IMG]