Marvels Black Panther (MCU design build)

The Yin

Hello all,

I've been on the RPF for some time now, but haven't made a build thread, so this will be my first.
I've made a few costumes over the years but this one will have a lot of new points for me, so any help or pointers will be appreciated.

I'm starting off with the Cowl since I'v got no experience there, and would prefer to have as much time working on it as possible. The plan is to follow this technique, and hope that my sculpting skills don't completely suck.

Next would be the suit itself, and I am taking design ques from SMPDesigns. I'm wanting to have a Spandex base with Cordura and Worbla for the texture and details. Both of these are items I've never worked with before. :unsure

So far all I've done is read and stare at pictures, and pick out what Cordura I want to use, and put this screen grab collage together.

cowl details.png

This week I plan on working out some of the details for the cowl, and next weekend I'll be shopping for and buying the spandex for the suit.

We'll see how all this turns out
Stay tuned . . .

-Take your time with the sculpt. Getting symmetry is a pain in the ass, so if at any point you start getting frustrated, walk away for 10-30 minutes, give yourself some time to calm down.
-Worbla is pretty user friendly, just don't waste any of it. If you have scraps, keep them around. It is great for making tiny ornamental details.
-If you are sewing the fabrics together with a machine (highly recommended), make sure you use the right equipment/settings. Spandex likes to slide and (shocker) stretch under a sewing machine's presser foot, which can lead to uneven jobs. Definitely read up on that if you've never done it.

Those are all my tips based on what you've started. It is an ambitious project, but looks like you are coming at it from a great angle!