Don't want to see this ad? Sign up for anRPF Premium Membershiptoday. Support the community. Stop the ads.

scarletsnake

Hey there!

I'm Jon, and I'm a freelance graphics designer/indie game developer.

Like many of you, I grew up loving Small Soldiers, and wanted to have the actual figures used in the movie, or replicas that resembled them. The "Declare your allegiance" poster was one of the first things I saw when we moved to the States in 98. I was 8 years old, and I still remember seeing the Commando Elite in that dimly lit poster, without even seeing the movie, I was instantly obsessed. My love for Stan Winston Studio's work did not wither throughout the years. I kept looking and looking for movie accurate replicas even after 22 years.

So, there are many talented artists doing their own Small Soldiers replicas, and some even selling them, but while most of them do look great, they are way out of my price range. Having the skills to create a 3D printable model, and having access to an actual 3D printer, I've finally decided to have a go at making my 8 year old self the gift(s) he always wanted. Now I just need a time machine.

I've compiled an expansive assortment of reference photos from the internet and screengrabs from the movie, and this is what I have made so far. I welcome any and all constructive feedback, as well as ideas on how to further proceed with the project. I intend to make at least three fully completed replicas, so the printing/priming/painting/sealing phases will be somewhat documented here as well.

So here are some select pics/renders from the venture so far!
Apologies if some of the photos aren't that great, my phone is almost as ancient as the source movie.

First off was Major Chip Hazard, without a doubt, the coolest action figure ever designed.

09-front.jpg
14-front.jpg
16-Boots.jpg
25arm3.jpg
25Chip.jpg

From this point on, further tiny tweaks were made all over(especially on the face and hair) and it was now time to print!