Cave Johnson Combustible Lemon

spacebat

Combustible Lemon Project

First probably should give a little background about myself, I’m a programmer and web developer mostly back end server side design and android app development. This is my first attempt at prop design the closest I’ve come to any form of prop design is a few arduino projects, a radio controlled submersible using PVC and my parents upholstery shop… making upholstery.

I would like to thank Jen from EPBOT.com for the Cave Johnson Combustible Lemon tutorial. I borrowed quite a few ideas from her design. I would also like to thank Sanityattack for posting his design as I also used this as reference.

My goal is to not only make a prop but a functional design that plays the cave johnson combustible lemon rant as it is one of my favorite clips from Portal. I first used an Arduino Push-button recorder from radioshack that I had programmed and recorded but I recently found another push-button recorder that is much more hobby friendly as I would like to create a youtube tutorial. The project isn’t finished, I still need to glue, dremel, sand and paint. I saved these steps for last. As a programmer, functionality is far more important to me (meaning I saved the hard stuff for last) :p

Material:

Lemon: Purchased From Wal-mart $1.99
Toy Grenade: Military Toy Grenade purchased off Amazon. $2.99
Push Button Sound Recorder: Originally: Arduino Push Button recorder (requires programming) $11.99
Alternative: Push Button Module by: Invite By Voice. (No programming uses USB) $6.99
Xacto knife: Craft Store $6.99
Stenciling Pen: Black Identi Pen $3.99
Stenciling Paper: Staples $2.99
philips head screwdriver: $1.99

View attachment 225839View attachment 225832View attachment 225835View attachment 225834View attachment 225836View attachment 225841