Aliens Locator - No, the small tube one.

dproc

Have been working on a 3D Print (I dont have a lathe) for an Aliens Tracker Tube. For all my searching it seems they have really dropped off the radar for some reason. There are some old threads but doesnt seem like they are popular any more? I'd love some info about how the circuit works. I have limited electronics experience and im assuming it was done pre-arduino easy enough to fit in the tube using the HP 5082-7433 display. It's not easy to google a circuit that counts down a 3 digit display with a steadily increasing beep that ends in a continuous tone! If I manage to source one of the displays, id like to make a woking one like ive seen. Does someone have that diagram tucked away? I'll post the model when finished if anyone wants it. There are a lot around probably but I spent a long time getting the knurl at the end to match the look of the photo when its printed and added a screw end etc, so its not too bad. Maybe inspire someone to make one?

Attachments

• Aliens-USCM-Personnel-Locator-Tube-3.jpg
    Aliens-USCM-Personnel-Locator-Tube-3.jpg
    121.3 KB · Views: 75
  • display.png
    display.png
    267.5 KB · Views: 70
  • Screenshot 2024-01-26 143338.png
    Screenshot 2024-01-26 143338.png
    205.1 KB · Views: 70
Looks fantastic! Although I don't have any electronics experience, I would love to get a copy of your model when you finish it. It's the best I've seen, and I would love to make one! Thanks for the offer!

Bill

Can anyone confirm if these photos are correct to the original? Specifically the top. The photo on the cutting board has a small gear on the top and some holes and a ring around the inside. This looks like a gas connector ring? Was this the original tube part? Or is this just a home made variation for more detail? I cant find this photo anywhere on reverse search. I'd rather add it now than re-do it later! Ive messaged the original thread user.

Attachments