Back To The Future 2015 Set (CG Model)

BlobVanDam

Sr Member
Hi!
I've mostly been a lurker here, since I'm not a physical prop builder, but inspired by SteveStarkiller's impressive CG Millennium Falcon interior build which I've been following closely, and knowing how many big (and knowledgable) BTTF fans we've got here, I thought I'd share my latest personal project to recreate the 2015 version of Courthouse Square from BTTF2, one of my favourite movie scenes of all time.
I know it's not a physical model/prop, but I figured people would appreciate it all the same. :)

So far I've got the Courthouse Mall and the Holomax cinema started-

test015.jpg

test013.jpg

test014.jpg

test012.jpg

All constructive criticism and help is very welcome, although it's currently very much a WIP, so I'm probably aware of most errors at the moment, but the ultimate goal is to get it as accurate and photorealistic as I can.

Looking great! As you say it's early days and hard to say much at this point. Just remember to bevel and fillet as needed, that will help keep the CG demons at bay.

Very cool! That set is so amazing with a tremendous amount of detail! Looking forward to your progress.

Looking great! As you say it's early days and hard to say much at this point. Just remember to bevel and fillet as needed, that will help keep the CG demons at bay.

I sure will. I refine progressively, so that is a later step once I'm completely happy that I've got the shape correct, which at the moment is still not locked in.

Very cool! That set is so amazing with a tremendous amount of detail! Looking forward to your progress.

Every time I look at a screenshot, I spot some new detail that is only seen for a brief second of screen time, that most people will never even notice. It all really helps to sell the reality of the world, even if only at a sub-conscious level. A project like this really gives you an extra level of appreciation for the love that went into creating something like this.