Two piece mold for rotocasting, suggestions?

Thoramyre

Jr Member
image.jpeg

Hi guys,
I have limited experience with making two piece molds for rotocasting objects of much size.
I am working on getting my foam build ups ready to cast with smooth-on 65D.
I have searched the forum and looked online for tutorials but few actually talk about making the mold itself, specifically what is the best method for creating the dividers for the two piece mold and which is the preferred way to divide the two halves.
Any suggestions from some of the experienced members here?
Any help is greatly appreciated!
Thanks, James

As you've said, you've probably seen this video....this guy is doing Iron Man parts:

I've made 2 piece moulds, but for model parts,....lay the part down in a container and build up modelling clay up to its mid so that only one half is exposed....place on some Keys i.e. Hex bolts so that when the whole project is done the two silicone halves have somewhere to lock together,....fill the exposed half of the model in the container with silicone
When the silicone has cured, remove the entire silicone, model & clay from the container,.....place the silicone back into the container,...put the model part back into the silicone mould leaving the un-moulded part of the model exposed,....give the interior of the container (the model & silicone) a blast of silicone release
Pour new silicone into the container,...when the silicone is cured remove from container,...you should have a two piece mould.....you will likely need to trim some of the silicone to allow for a filling point for the resin to go in & likely make an exterior container to hold the two halves together whilst casting

J

Last edited by a moderator:
There are a couple ways to skin this cat. I am surprised at how few videos demonstrate the way I would do it.