Ziza's First Project: DDC Defender ROTJ

silentZ94

So for my first project I decided to try and make Leia's blaster from ROTJ! I decided to make this one instead of the one from ANH because personally, I'm tiny and the barrel might be a bit to long for me.. This thread will be both my work in progress and research thread. I thought it'd be a good idea to get all my ideas and research into one place so it would be easier for me to reference. I'm very new to this though so if anyone has any suggestions, please tell me!

DefROTJ.jpg

So, to begin the DDC Defender uses a Margolin .22 target pistol. I went searching around for replicas of this pistol and (from the looking around I've done) I can't seem to find one. I did find some real ones but those go anywhere from $600 and above which equals out of my budget. But then thd9791 (the person who got me into this mess lol) suggested using a Denix p38 replica instead!

Margolin-left.jpgP38-Pistol.-Denix-Replica-010414-1.JPG

Since I'm not gunning (ha, gunning) for absolute accuracy, this might be the way to go for me. I mean, they look pretty darn similar shape wise even though there are some obvious differences. I would just have to find a way to extend the barrel of course and add on the little piece below it. I'll also have to find a replica part of the sight(?). I'm not quite sure if that's called that (my gun terminology is pretty minimal) but I know the piece on the end of the Margolin is called the muzzle break? Maybe? If I'm wrong please correct me!