Wonder Woman build - New 52 Cliff Chiang version

Adorabelle

Hola friends. I'm new here and throwing my hat in the ring for my first "build" thread. It's a rather last minute build for SDCC 2016 based on New 52 Wonder Woman (Cliff Chiang's art, specifically). Here are some of my reference pics. I'm making everything myself and a lot of the materials I've never worked with before:

Corset will be a leather floating cover over a coutil/steel boned core.

Undies and boot cover are a navy ponte di roma fabric (I'll take some pics of the patterning process for the boots).

Armor will be either sintra or worbla. I have both and am going to test out both as I've never used either.

Planning to use Alclad II Chrome for my silver paint - again, I've never airbrushed anything.

SOOOOO expect to enjoy my documentation of a lot of mishaps and mistakes along the way. WOOHOO!!! To Themyscira!!!

wonderwoman35cover.jpg print+13x19.jpg
GalleryComics_1900x900_20140312_WW_Cv23_R1_52fad56b20d743.72935266.jpg

Last edited:
It's a pretty cool design, so good luck !

I've got one piece of advice regarding the aclad, and take it from someone who started using an airbrush with aclad directly :
First, you need a good airbrush. The two first ones I had didn't cut it. The first one that did was a Tamiya, although eventually I broke it trying to clean it, now I have an Evolution that works wonders. With that you need a proper compressor, with a pressure gauge, moisture trap and all.

Then, you need to really prep the surface, sand it down with the finest sand paper you have, micromesh if possible (1000 up to 12000), and before applying the alclad chrome, you need a very good glossy black base. I personally never managed to have a good one with Alclad's own gloss black base, but that's maybe just me, so I use an Humbrol black gloss spray can.
Only then you can apply the Alcald, in very light coats, and make sure it's the recommended air pressure on the compressor !