Witcher 3: Tin pierced Lantern WIP

TaK1138

Greetings, I am a long time causal lurker (so casual that my account expired and I had to make a new one for this post.), first time poster.

I am working on replicating the lantern worn by Joachim von Gratz form the Carnal Sins mission in the Witcher 3.

maxresdefault.jpg

I am a full time artist and maker. I have a small CNC shop and I work primarily in wood. Prior to 2020 I participated in several festivals where I sell my work, some of which are quiet immersive productions and if you come in just jeans and a t-shirt you will stick out and probably have less fun, and I really enjoy dressing up but I only enjoy functional costume and tend not to adorn myself needlessly. So what I really appreciate about this project is that it is based in function and has an analogue in history. My desire is to clip this onto my cloak or top wear and have it hang from my chest, emitting a small amount of light during the night and looking awesome while doing it.

Research:
At first I wasn't even sure what this kind of lantern is called. Finding images of this character where you can see the lantern is challenging. After some time on Pintrest and Etsy, the closest type of lantern I found was a Pierced Tin Lantern. I continued to learn about the history of pierced tin lanterns and found the most traditional
PiercedTinLanternCoverPage.jpg

style is referred to as a "Paul Revere Pierced Tin Lantern". When searching by that name I was repeatedly linked to a website where I hobbyist describes picking up these plans from a gift shop on the east coast. The plans are Copywritten so they are not freely available. I called up the gift shop and turns out they haven't sold these plans for a long time. I searched high and low and almost gave up but then I found another website selling Pierced Tin Lantern Kits which includes plans by James J. and Marie C. copywrite 1981. I purchased the kit so I had a starting point.