Tusken Raider ANH Complete Build

RandomPropGeek

Hi everybody,
i'm quite new to building Star Wars Costumes. I started last year by sewing a Jawa Costume for surprising my wife, as 2 Jawas are better than one. She ordered a Rubie's one for Helloween and I made two Enfield 1903 Bandoliers of leather, to get rid of those crappy foamparts from the costume. We had lots of fun in the costumes. From that day i wanted to build a Tusken Raider Costume and started researching. I have a backround of doing living-history for 20 years, so i know what it takes to research and recreate as close as possible to the original. I decided to go for the Peter Diamond costume, as it appealed to me mostly. An eye opener was Adam Savages's review (to be seen on YT) of the Peter Diamond Mask, owned by Stephen Lane. showing so much detail in the video, it gave me hints in construction that could not be seen on photos from the web.
All parts are made from scratch and are made of the actual material.
As of yesterday(Oct 5th), this is the result of the mask by now (Weahtering required)
More pics of parts coming soon...
TUSKEN2.jpg

TUSKEN1.jpg

TUSKEN3.jpg
TUSKEN6.jpg

Went to Tatooine to buy my wife a blaster...

Last edited:
Today i did the first dress up test. What you realize instantly, is where the bulky/baggy look emerges from. Wearing 3 layers of cloth is quite something. Unfortunately i had to hold the camera myself. But hey, Tusken love those tech bits don't they?
Anprobe2mail.jpg

Here's some details:
TUSKEN13.jpg
TUSKEN8.jpg

The can tops are turned on a lathe, as are the hex nuts (13mm rod) the bottle caps are from german 1 litre Coke bottles. Damn close to the originals...