How do you guys feel about the discarding order during your turn phase? It is worded vaguely in both the Han Solo Card Game and Galaxy's Edge Sabacc.
In the Han Solo game, it reads: Take the top card from the draw pile. If you want to, you can also place a card from your hand on the discard pile.
This version makes no explicit mention of what order you have to do this in, so presumably you could take the draw card and then decide whether to discard anything.
In the GE Sabacc rules it reads: Take the top card from the Draw Pile. You may keep the card or you may discard. If you pick the option of discarding, you must discard before you draw.
This is very confusing and circular writing. I'm guessing they meant that if you want to discard a card from your hand, you have to do it before drawing a new card. It feels unclear to me whether you can discard the drawn card or not, since you "must discard before you draw" implies you can't but "you MAY keep the card or you may discard" implies you can. (but for sure I would say you can't discard, draw, then discard that too b/c it would make your hand shrink).
What do you guys prefer, and what do you think the game creators intended? We never see any discards take place in the movie scene at all, or in the making-of feature, or when they taught how to play it on The Star Wars show... it was never mentioned. Of course, that doesn't mean it didn't just get edited out for brevity. I wish we could get a hold of one of the game's creators, or write to someone at the company to clarify the rules... but I have a feeling it would still clash with other sources and just put us back to square one lol.