Star Trek: TNG MkVII Science Tricorder Build

Jastor00

RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hi all! It's been a looooong time since I’ve posted a build. I'm not a speedy prop builder as I have a lot of other hobbies. I think the last one I shared was my cricket phaser some time ago. But I’m proud to say I’ve managed to complete this long-term prop build before the end of 2023 - a MkVII Tricorder from Star Trek: The Next Generation.

The MkVII is my favorite prop of all time. I’m quite literally obsessed with these things and study them like a scholar. I’ve had a couple prior to this - a Playmates Tric with updated electronics and a static pre-built Stapleton that I added lights to. This is my first actual build and attempt at a screen-accurate replica. I am slow but meticulous, so this took the better part of the year, on and off. I've had the kit for over 10 years and have been intimidated to start until I decided to go for it this year.

Below are some finished photos of the prop, but I will cover the build overall in posts that follow. I’m in the process of completing another two of these, a Roddenberry MkVII science and a season 3 MkVI, so suggestions for improvement are welcome.

This particular example was a half-built kit I bought maybe a decade ago, I believe from Dennis Stines. If anyone knows the source of the body based on photos, I’d love to know its provenance. It’s not a Roddenberry or Stapleton body.

Finished pics of the prop and a custom case I made for it:

XS6s7ZymaPZMU96kpaQ=w1202-h1808-s-no-gm?authuser=0.jpg

kpkftoZEdSN1KdekXaA=w2718-h1808-s-no-gm?authuser=0.jpg

IP1dapLowOlZXjuxnyQ=w2718-h1808-s-no-gm?authuser=0.jpg

GdAvo21_PnZ9mDrKRYQ=w1202-h1808-s-no-gm?authuser=0.jpg

oVWuK0u_kYAD8PAr8Vw=w1202-h1808-s-no-gm?authuser=0.jpg
OpSDHcDCu0oLtSNvMvA=w1202-h1808-s-no-gm?authuser=0.jpg

Thanks for looking! More to come...

Last edited: