Snowspeeder build. 3D print w/ a little scratch build fun

mjhenks

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Not my first SS build but i am no pro. I enjoy building things and finished my Y-wing last year. I still do not have the guts to tackle my Pyro X-wing nor my Tie so how about another 3D print based build.

70129934934__13A61E6E-5115-4E6F-AA32-FD70AE3DE7C1.jpg

My plan was to find a SS 3D model to learn how to resin print with. I was given an Elegoo Mars and needed an excuse to use it. I also have good friends who build large format industrial 3D printers. Between the two of them why not tackle another Star Wars OT model. At first i was going to do the escape pod but settled on the Snowspeeder.

70129930135__D14DC0BF-1F6F-48D0-A2FB-9F6D7D46BDD0.jpg

70129931823__0A39C012-7D97-4326-B3BC-F63CABC97B35.jpg

Large scale 3D printing is not free so after some horse trading i had a deal to 3D print all the parts that would not fit on my ultimaker.

One surplus measuring microscope for a few large pieces of plastic. Good deal for both parties. sort of...

IMG_5118.jpg

IMG_0777.jpg

I did not realize how wonky the flat panels would be on the print. Great for what the market they are serving but not so great for a SS model. I will be thinking quite a bit about my next steps.

Attachments

• 70129930135__D14DC0BF-1F6F-48D0-A2FB-9F6D7D46BDD0.jpg
    70129930135__D14DC0BF-1F6F-48D0-A2FB-9F6D7D46BDD0.jpg
    989.3 KB · Views: 62
I am catching up on this project so while i had some thinking to do in the first post that thinking was done a few weeks back.

Here is the underside. Just as wonky as the top.

IMG_0779.jpg

Here is a the realization point on the reality that i was not going to be satisfied and that this was not going to end well. After shooting some primer and sanding some it was clear that by the time i got all those lines out there would be no panel lines and no detail parts left. I better find a plan B.

wing.jpg