Prop Casting Question

Blue Leader

Sr Member
Greetings. I have a question regarding making a mold of a prop that I made, and then making some resin casts of it.

I've been watching videos and reading guides about making this because I've never done anything like this before, and while I think that I understand how to do it, before I order the silicone and resin I just wanted to make sure that what I'm understanding is correct. I'm just a little paranoid, I guess. Heh heh...

The chestbox pictured below is what I'm going to be making a mold of. Well, one of the things. I'm also working on a helmet (which is fairly small, actually) and there will be various greeblies, too, though I figured that the helmet mold could be made about the same way as the chestbox mold, and the greeblies would just have silicone poured over the top of them as a one-piece mold.
bwingPilotV4_Chestbox_Februay7-2015-01.jpg