Power Ranger DinoCharge Sculpt smoothing help

NINO90

Hi Everyone, new guy here. I've been learning to sculpt for about 8 months now, so I think Its time to ask amazing & talented artist here to help me with any critics & advice. Please would you kindly give me a benchmark & especially about simmetry issue & Smoothing the clay.

I made a mistake by using Chavant NSP Hard in this sculpture. It is veeeeeery hard clay. too hard for me. I never try other type of clay except pottery clay which is soft, easy to smooth, but out of question for make a silicone mold with. Since Chavant's price here is soooo expensive because of the tax. So I'll stick with this clay & try to reach its max potential.

So my question is :
Is it possible to make my sculpture soooo smoooth especially in the corner of the edgy shape with this clay? That's the hurdle I couldn't solve so far. Its annoying. I've tried to smooth the edgy shape with pottery clay and it turns out good But in this NSP hard every time I try to smoothing the nook & cranny the clay behave almost like body filler (bondo). I try to heat it with the heat gun & it became soft yet quite difficult too to make it smooth. Strange. Is there any tools or trick to smoothing this particular part?

Thank you, I appreciate any inputs :)

Attachments

• CORNER.jpg
    CORNER.jpg
    369.7 KB · Views: 205
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    240.1 KB · Views: 203
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    278 KB · Views: 174
Which tool were you using? Just out of interest. A nice thinnish wire loop tool with a square end will help dig out hard corners. Shave the surface even with the tool and use a little water or 99% alcohol on your finger to help smooth it out a little more.

The great thing about chavant is it is an automotive clay. Meaning it takes hard edges and smoothing very well.