My first build: Thor (Avengers)

SonOfKrypton

Hey everyone,

I'm new to TheRPF (and forums in general). This is my first ever foam build so I thought I would document/share my process. I’ve been growing my hair out slowly over the past year or so. Finally, it’s just long enough for me to pull off Thor so that’s what I’m doing for Halloween this year. I’m going with a costume that is mostly based on the one from the first Avengers movie. I will end up making some minor deviations where it makes sense, but that’s my general starting point.

Before I started, I found this great Instructable on creating foam armor and that formed the basis of my knowledge here. I also did further research on tips and tricks working with foam and hot glue, getting clean cuts, etc…

I was lucky enough to have found a handful of posts (like this one from @Dynofiend) who have tried similar versions of this costume. Like Dynofiend, I also started with the template on October and Rules Cosplay Blog (shown below).

tumblr_m932xeJSU01re0ktno1_r1_1280.jpg

This post from @bananahammock was also very helpful.

It was awesome to see what worked and what didn’t, what solutions others have tried, and where I thought I would be better served by coming up with my own solutions. Others have done some amazing work, but I wanted to make this one uniquely my own. I’m a graphic designer by trade, so I love coming up with creative solutions to challenges.

That said, being new to all this, I didn’t want to push myself too hard, so I nixed the armored sleeves. I only started this a couple weeks before Halloween and wanted to make sure I could get it done. At 6’00” 190lbs, I’m not really a small guy, but I’m certainly no Hemsworth. Regardless, I don't think I'll look totally hilarious going with the sleeveless look.