My Fallout Ranger Attempt

K262

Hello,

I am a new member to this thread, and am relatively new to costuming. Previously, i have created a COG chestpiece that I wore to a Halloween party, but that is about it. I have a little knowledge of fiberglassing and bondo-ing, as well as painting technique and other things. However I am still really new to this whole thing. So, I am attempting to complete the NCR Veteran Ranger Costume I became interested in after seeing Kommisar's work (sorry about the name drop if that is a bad thing...). I have sewn the duster (adding several additions to the pattern to make it more accurate), created the mask from acyrillic (I cut it out and bent it with a crembrule torch, then glued it), created the armor from foam and other things, and have painted and weatherd said objects. I will post pictures as soon as I can, but my main question is: "Do you have any pointers relative to the costume build, and/or anything that comes along with building costumes (e.g. working with styrene, getting schematics, wiring, weathering, etc.)". Sorry for the really long first post, but I thought I should get it all out there.

Thanks

(P.S. I also work with CAD, and have created accurate models of the laser rifle from Fallout 3 and the Halo Magnum.....)

I look forward to seeing your progress. I am a pretty big FO3 and FONV fan.

I've been wanting to do a vault costume for some time now. I even got a movie I helped prop use a pip boy in it. Wish I would have bought one for myself.

Here are a few pictures of my progress so far. As I have said before, please feel free to critique and offer suggestions on everything. I want to learn as much as I can.

Thanks, I got the pattern from amazon.com. I looked for "duster patterns" and I went with the one from "Buckaroo Bobbins". I had to make some alterations to the pattern (such as the high collar) and have changed the cape a little (making it velcro on and in three pieces for more accuracy).