Loose X-wing cannons - modeling noob needs glue tips

Cadger

I recently received a 1:24 scale X-wing model I purchased from another RPF member. Three of it's four cannos came loose during shipping. I need to glue them back on. On one of the wings the mount point is chipped. (See photo below.) The three others are fine.

At hand I have the Gorilla super glue gel and some tubes of E6000. Since there is some stress on this small mount point my first instinct is to use a glob of E6000, which is strong and can take a litte movement.

But I have zero experience with model building so I though it would be wise to get some input first. Should I go ahead, or should I use another type of glue?

Attachments

• 20231206_182905.jpg
    20231206_182905.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 108
  • 20231206_182900.jpg
    20231206_182900.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 99
  • 20231206_182851.jpg
    20231206_182851.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 103
My recommendation is to use both. E6000 is stronger, but takes hours upon hours to cure, and holding the part in place can be very difficult. So I would use a tiny dab of superglue surrounded by a little more of E6000. The superglue holds it in place while the E6000 works.

I've done this a few times. Even used hot glue to hold something in place for the E6000 to cure.

Don't worry about squeeze-out; you can scrape off the excess after it's fully cured.

My recommendation is to use both. E6000 is stronger, but takes hours upon hours to cure, and holding the part in place can be very difficult. So I would use a tiny dab of superglue surrounded by a little more of E6000. The superglue holds it in place while the E6000 works.

I've done this a few times. Even used hot glue to hold something in place for the E6000 to cure.

Don't worry about squeeze-out; you can scrape off the excess after it's fully cured.
This. Tack in place with cyanoacrylate (super glue), and E6000 as suggested.