IM MK8 helmet foam build (tweaked gimpee/gaiatron pep) - First build ever

XBlackLight

Hey there folks...

I'll be completely honest here - This is (excluding one test build) my first project of building a replica prop, and as I'm more-or-less a complete newbie when it comes to scratch building anything, I'm bound to make mistakes.

My first mistake, I think, is deciding to make just the helmet of an Ironman suit - Yes, I know that making the other parts is the preferred method, however, I have no need for the rest of the suit - I just wanted the helmet :)

Please note here that I have had to use the materials that I can find... the foam is basic 8mm campermat EVA, and the hot-glue gun I have been using was the cheapest one I could find from a reputable manufacturer - I'm kinda on an extreme budget here.

Anyways, my first test build was of the faceplate, based on JFcustom's foam pep, based on Sharkmark VI's original paper pdo... and here's what I came up with.

mk6testpiece.jpg

This piece was essentially me figuring out a few things, mainly :

1. Foam doesn't fold in crisp lines
2. Hot glue is, in fact, hot enough to burn your fingers

... and in general how foam and hot-glue are to work with.

After giving it a couple of days thinking about it, and with the news of IM3 coming out here in the UK on the 8th of May, I thought it might be an idea to change to the Mk8 helmet design, on the basis that I like the design more.

I've used gimpee/gaiatron's foam build for the helmet - I have needed to make a couple of modifications to the foam pep, partly because I found a 'missing' piece that wasn't on the paper printout; partly because their .pdo is set for Letter paper, and not A4; and partly because I am, at heart, a complete noob at this and mistakes have been made :p

Saying that, here's what I've come up with thus far :

mk8faceplate.jpg

mk8seperated.jpg

mk8bodgetogether.jpg