I need help making a legit Deadpool costume

ZackBryan

Hey guys,

Okay, before I begin I need to get this off my chest... I'm a noob. I've been browsing around RPF for awhile now, but I'm brand new to costuming. Never even touched a sowing machine. That's why I need your guys' expertise.

Now, I've come across hundreds of Deadpool costumes, and to be honest most of them are pretty simple. You know what I'm talking about, right? Like this. Usually they're just modified versions of the ones Ebay sells. Don't get me wrong, they're pretty cool. But I want a costume that stands out more.

So what I hope to do is start working on a more elaborate Deadpool costume. Seeing as how I'm brand new to this, I would greatly appreciate if you guys could give me ideas on what materials to use, how to make things more functional, better looking, more comfortable, etc. By the end I'm really hoping to pull off something like this.

Teach me your ways. Any and all tips would be immensely appreciated.

Last edited:
The suit that you pictured looks to be screenprinted spandex, made in the same way folks usually make their various Spider-Man suits (drawn on Photoshop, files sent to a printer). I have little experience with the method myself, but I say search around the Junkyard for the big Spider-Man suit guys (Spidey4Fun comes to mind) and see if he can design, screen, and sew you up a custom Deadpool suit.

However, if you want a suit that truly stands out, I say base yours on the Deadpool's look in his upcoming video game. Instead of using a traditional spandex or screen-printed spandex, use textured red spandex and quilted black vinyl or pleather for the black sections. You should be able to find all of Deadpool's various holsters, magazine holders and straps at any gun or Airsoft supply shop. His buckle can be easily fabricated with a mayonaise lid, some Apoxie Sculpt and a bit of patience.