Help Needed: A few questions about Polyester Resin

lunchweek

Hi,

I'm totally new with polyester resin and fiberglass. I'm trying to make my Pepakura Judge Dredd Helmet, but have a few questions about polyester resin.

1- The guy who sold me the polyester resin added some cobalt in it, which gives it a bright blue color. Since the resin in all the build pictures I've seen so far was clear, I was wondering that it'd be a problem.

2- I've made 2 test coats before coating my Dredd helmet, but it still feels tacky after 3 days, even though I stirred both the cobalted resin and the catalyst vigorously. What may cause the tackiness?

3- The test run still smells like hell. Is it normal? Will the smell eventually go?

Thank you so much in advance!

Last edited:
Polyester resin is not that nice to work with (I had to ban the kids from the bottomed of the garden where my shed is as I'd made a polyester casting in it, it stank for four weeks :/

The resin might be tacky for two reasons, lack of exothermic reaction due to thin castings (heating the mould during the cure time will help with thin parts), and exposure to air while it cures (basically down to exotherm again as Thor outermost layer won't get warm enough to harden properly.

Not sure why the vendor added the cobolt, was it requested? If not, a drop extra of the catalyst might see you ok.

Seems awesome, but since I'm from Turkey, it's extremely hard to find/import chemicals for me. I've found the polyester resin after a few months research :)

Ah ok. Just go easy on the catalyst as too much can make a casting crack due to aggressive exothermic heat reaction.

For thin parts, or to get away with using a little less catalyst, warming the mould to 50c prior to pouring will help the cure process, and vastly reduce the risk of micro bubbles.