Foam Armor Question: Stronger, Faster, Better

Bluejeanjedi

Though I have been cosplaying for several years, this summer was my first "from scratch" creation. I created armor for a costume based on the hero "Hawke" from the video game "Dragon Age 2." For my first attempt at armor, I was pleasantly surprised (plethora of hot-glue burns a notable exception).

I am now working on armor to finish a Royal Guard costume from Star Wars. My wife found me a helmet and robe several years ago, but I want to have armor (similar to the comics: Crimson Empire). I've already started constructing with foam again, and I think it might just workout.

So, the question for this community is about making foam "harder, more durable", especially since I want to ensure a smooth coat of paint to reflect similar plastic molding from Storm Troopers and other Star Wars costumes.

Any suggestions? I've seen reference to resin, epoxy, and other coatings, but no real specifics. Anyone have any trade secrets?

View attachment 69831

the best thing that you can put on your foam would be Rosco Flexbond. its just like the adhesion promoter guys use to paint. the flexbond is what stage prop makers use in professional plays. ive talked to the rosco rep about using this on my ME2 armor. he said that you can either paint it on before painting your piece, or you can mix 50/50 flex and paint. you would use the craft acrylic paint for this.
it comes in the standard gallon paint can and costs about $40 canadian. i dont know if its in the states. you can also get the fire resistant one which is a lot more money.

as for how durable the foam is, i just took my aliens armor out to paintball yesterday for 7 hours. it stood up to running through bush and being pelted all day buy a couple hundred people. it came out without a scratch. if it can stand up to what i put it through, you shouldnt have any problems.