Fine Molds Y-wing fighter build in progress

knievel

So i'm a newbie here. Picked up an hold hobby during X-mas holidays, since I had some models laying around on the attic.
Working at the kitchen table was never a good choice, so I decided to finally create my own spot at the attic.
And while I was at it, bought the airbrush I always wanted, but never had.

One of the kit was this Fine Molds Y-wing fighter. Great kit with a lot of detail! I never dared to start on it , afraid as I was to mess it up.
But with the right gear in the house, I decided to give it a go.
I searched the internet for forums like these to get ideas on how to paint, what materials to use and learn the technics.
Build is going pretty well I think, but I'm happy to hear advise on how to continue.
I''l go and try to upload photo's of the build. Comments are welcome.

Last edited:
Re: Y-wing fighter build in progress

First stage: the build.
This was a fun kit to build since the details are so delicate and thin. A lot of tubes to be fitted.
After that work was done, I gave it a dark grey prime coat.
Since I'm going for a really used and aged look, I masked some panels off with latex, to keep the prime color on some places.
Now it was time for my 1st airbrush action!
aplied layer by layer untill I was satisfied with the overall color.
Compaired to my old Y-wing fighter (I believe it's MPC) The difference in size and detail is obvious. Not to mention the paintjob ;-)

Attachments

• Star wars 026.JPG
    Star wars 026.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 136
  • Star wars 043.JPG
    Star wars 043.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 184
  • Star wars 042.JPG
    Star wars 042.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 147
  • Star wars 040.JPG
    Star wars 040.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 121
  • Star wars 037.JPG
    Star wars 037.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 146
  • Star wars 036.JPG
    Star wars 036.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 134
  • Star wars 029.JPG
    Star wars 029.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 143
Last edited:
Re: Y-wing fighter build in progress