District 9 Prawn Hand sculpt *Possible Spoilers*

MDuckett

I wanted to post some images of a sculpt I'm working on. I'm hoping to get some feedback, since it's basically my first sculpt.

I just picked up some Chavant NSP and some latex, and I plan on getting this thing in some plaster this weekend, I hope. I'm pretty new to this, so I'm just hoping to get some crits and advice from everyone here. It's a learning experience. And sorry for the crappy pics, I just had my phone on me. Oh, and for the messy porch.

I'm going for the earlier Wikus, before he pulls the bacon off his side, etc. I guess just after he steals the clothes and stuff. I see the hand changes a lot throughout the movie. And it seems proportionately biger than the true prawns' hands, but maybe it's just a scale issue.

Here's what I've got so far:
4040477884_29721116ee.jpg

4040477928_a2f5ba1483.jpg

I had smoothed the back of the "hand" and the palm too much, and it looked too fleshy, instead of chitinous, like I assume it should be. So went back and just did mostly finger smoothing, and I think it's a pretty good texture now.

4040478052_26c5729640.jpg

I was a little lost about the palm. I haven't found ANY reference for this, and I don't remember seeing it in the movie (I've seen it three times so far).
hlo has a great sculpt with some interesting palm action, but I couldn't find anything, so I sort of extrapolated from the images I had. I went a kind of elephant skin route, because of the softness of the hand during the hatchet scene. And in the pics you can see some excess skin-looking stuff on parts of the hand, so I went with that.

4039727473_6618ee5137.jpg

Kinda makes the thumb look a little large.

4039727591_50f50ed890.jpg

Here is the ref I used, same stuff that's floating around. About all I could find.

This is the main source. It's early Wikus, before the infection spread so much. The hand is clean and shiny.
4039770519_fbe7c38862.jpg