Deathstroke Suit and Weaponry - Pic Heavy

egonspengler617

A big hello to the RPF community! While this is not the first costume I've done, this is my first time posting a build thread on any forum site, so I hope you all enjoy what I have to show! Also, if I did something wrong and the pictures aren't showing correctly, I would appreciate info on how to fix it. This past June, my friend and I went to Wizard World Philadelphia. He was designing a tactical Robin suit (to match the tactical Batman suit he made for the last con), so after much deliberation, I figured we should go as a duo. I was originally thinking Cyborg and doing a Teen Titan motif, but even when a Cyborg is done right, I still don't think it looks good (no offense to those of you who have made some awesome Cyborg suits). Since I had never gone the "villian" route, I decided we should go as Deathstroke and Robin. With the idea in mind, the eBay searches began. I won't focus too much on the pieces that are easy/store bought with slight modifications, namely the chest armor, gloves, shin guards, thigh guards, belt/boxes/pouches, etc. These were all found on eBay and military surplus sites based on the style I wanted to do. The big pieces I had to figure out were the mask and the weapons.

Be warned, this is a pic heavy thread, as it is a full build.

After a few searches online, I decided I wanted to keep my build budget low (the finished suit ran me about $250), and since I couldn't find a mask I liked/was comfortable with buying, I decided one would have to be made. But where to start? A few Youtube searches led me to some people who had made Deathstroke masks from the toy store Iron Man masks. This was promising, but the cost of the mask was too high for me to justify. So thanks to eBay, and some luck, I settled on a Rubies Iron Man halloween mask, as shown below:

IMG_1630_zpseahuemmx.png