Cheap training remote alternative (alarm clock)?

Discussion in 'Replica Props' started by pandatrooper, Mar 14, 2012.

1. pandatrooper

pandatrooper Well-Known Member

Just found this online. No N. American retailers yet, but I'm sure there will be soon.

I'm not sure how accurate this is in terms of size as I'm not an expert on the remotes but always wanted one. I figured a mold can be made to cover the clock?

https://www.frontlinehobbies.com.au...Wesco Star Wars Jedi TrainingBall Alarm Clock

Training remote experts, please chime in. Been looking for an affordable kit for a long time, maybe this is it! :)

2. Kerr Avon

Kerr Avon Master Member

Doesn't look completely round to me. More ovoid, plus is the bottom attached to that base or would you have to replace that too? Otherwise, looks kind of cool.

3. Mara Jade's Father

Mara Jade's Father Master Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

I think that is a photoshop'ed image for concept purposes and not the final product.

When I first saw this earlier today, I first thought that it might have been an early leaked image of Thinkgeek.com's annual April Fools fake products. But since the websites have nothing to do with thinkgeek and people are taking pre-pay, it seems to be a legitimate product.

But like I said, the current image looks like they used either an image of an MR remote and manipulated it... so I intend to wait till the item is stocked to see if there are any differences.

Here is what I believe is the original image:

[​IMG] [​IMG]

4. Nobby

Nobby Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

I think you're absolutely right!

5. pandatrooper

Good catch Mara Jades Father!

Does anyone know what the diameter of the original screen used prop was?

6. Mara Jade's Father

If you check out Frank Cerney's page Training Seeker

He used a diameter plastic halves. Cerney and jedi remote props go hand-in-hand because as far as I know, he is the guru when it comes to research on this particular prop.

7. pandatrooper