BD-7Z Droid Build - Scratch Build - BD-1 (Photo Heavy)

Radford

After recently building my first costume, a Tusken Raider, I was motivated to try something else. I kept thinking about a BD droid and thought I'd have a go at doing a scratch build. This is my first attempt at something like this and I made it up as I went more than I would like to admit. I had a lot of fun with this build.

I haven't written a build blog before. But I have read heaps of them and they have been so beneficial for both my costume build and inspiration. This is not a step by step tutorial on what I did. This is just a general outline. With what I've learned, if I was to build another I would do it differently.

As I spent a couple of weeks thinking about the basic shapes I started collecting bits and pieces from thrift stores and second hand stores. This was what I started with. I did not use everything and I had to get a lot of other stuff.

IMG_7203.JPG

I used the plastic container to as a basic head shape. From the rubber floor mat I cut the eye shape.

For the left eye I cut down a piece of round pvc pipe.

The right eye was a cut down plumbing fitting, a fishing bobbin that I cut in half and then removed the dome. And a bottle cap was placed on top of that.

IMG_7455.JPG

IMG_7453.JPG

I dismantled the Antman mask. It had a feature where you can change the view through one of the eyes to a blue or a Kaleidoscope lens. After sanding it to shape with the dremel, I added the Kaleidoscope lens to the right eye, hoping it would add a cool effect? I used the blue lens for the left eye.

IMG_7459.JPG
IMG_7466.JPG

I had a faulty camera lens that I pulled apart for the left eye.

IMG_7473.JPG
IMG_7476.JPG

I cut the folding lid off the plastic container and sanded it to size. I wanted to make a wooden base for the head. I started by making two mock up's out of cardboard first. One made the head a bit higher, but I decided that it was too high so went with the lower option.

IMG_7482.JPG