Anovos Kylo Ren helmet COMPLETE overhaul/repaint

StaggzCosplay

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
This is a project I started in the middle of last year and just now finished.

I’ve always wanted a prop accurate Kylo Ren helmet. The Anovos was an excellent base, but the paint and overall texture details on the Anovos were lacking in my opinion.

I’ve been researching this helmet since 2015 and wanted to be able to replicate the look seen in film. After receiving good reference, I decided on the style of hero helmet I would be going for.

I had my friend Richard add in the air bubbles on the muzzle piece. He also altered the areas where the flares are, and cut out an entire piece as it is not present on the celebration model.
These were the pictures I was using as reference. Obviously, even with the reference I had of the helmet that I can’t post on here, there was still a lot that I interpreted or gave my artistic interpretation of. For example, the scarring on the faceplate was copied directly from the film source while the scratch weathering on the rest of the helmet was something that I added a bit “extra” of to make it pop.
IMG_8629.jpg

IMG_8628.jpg

IMG_8588.jpg

IMG_8546.jpg

IMG_8616.jpg

A6D8E6E5-B0AB-4653-A0E4-5E3CB1A12854.jpg

After sanding all the paint off of it, and adding probably 10-15 little various dents and dings that were on my reference and not on the Anovos, I sent it off to be vacuum metalized
IMG_7920.jpg

IMG_8126.jpg

Once it was back, more work began. I went ahead and hand painted some of the black so that when I sprayed it on, any spots I covered with the tape would still be black
IMG_8205.jpg

Finally I began to paint the rest of it.