32" Falcon Help-Cockpit Tube

Spartan17

Hi guys,
This is my first time on this section of the site, I usually hang out on the general modeling page but I posed a question today and it was suggested some of you might better be able to anwser it for me, here it is:

Hi everyone, first off I want to thank you all for all of the advise you have given me on past projects it is much appreciated. So to show my gratitude I have another question. I am in the early stages of building a 32" Millenium Falcon from scratch. I am confident in how I will build each section with exception of the cockpit tube. My idea is to use 2 hollow tubes with the ends cut at 60 degree angels and glued together. For the part that runs up the hull I was going to just cut a slot in the hull which narrows towards the top and slide the tube section inside to give it that sliming look as it moves closer to the top. Does this seem like it will work and if anybody has attempted this build how did you go about the tube section?

I would greatly like to avoid cutting pvc to match the curvature due to the fact it is not easy so do you think this method of cutting the hull around the tube will work? Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks for reading

eh up buddy.
i can`t help eith the way your suggesting because i did it the other way but cutting the 3" down pipe to the shape of my curve and then milliput the small inperfections.have you any images of ya work mym8..cheers peza

Thanks for the reply peza. No images yet I am still making some drawings and I like to think through any problem areas before I start building so I dont get half way in and relize Im screwed. I wil be sure to once I start construction though. Did you find it difficult cutting the pvc and how did you tracs the arc on before you cut?

eh up buddy.
i used my dremel with a metal circular blade.