1/1000 Polar Lights TOS Enterprise with lighting

modelerdave

Sr Member
I'm finishing an Airborne Miniature figure, then I'm going to dive into this kit. I've already started work on the windows while (literally) letting the paint dry on the miniature.

This is the Space Seed kit with the Botany Bay, which I don't think I'm going to bother to build. I picked this up for $10 at Michaels (thanks to Interstellar Modeler for the tip!).

I'm going to use the new Hobby Link International navigation strobe board to do most of the lighting, though I will be adding some additional lighting. I've never used a board before so this will be a first. I kind of suck at electronics so it will be interesting, and I'm sure there will be lots of swearing and gnashing of teeth.

I've watched a few videos of others who have built and lit this kit. The problem is that there are no cutouts or even indentations for the windows. Most I've seen use the decals as a template. I decided to buy the Paragrafix brass template to have an actual frame to help manage the drilling.

I started on the neck and used a pin vise, then tried to clean them up with a sharp Xacto blade. Good god it was tedious. I have the Tamiya hand drill but the collet didn't hold the really small drill bits I needed to use at this scale. So I bought a set of collets off of Amazon for about $8 that I thought would work.

I am so glad I did! I finished up the rest of the right side hull in about an hour. I drilled straight down on the outside edges of each rectangular window, then went back and drilled from each edge at a 45 degree angle to carve out the middle section of the plastic. I did that from each side until the middle section was gone, then cleaned it up with the drill.

It's not perfect, but it's vastly better than I could have done with a pin vise and blade. Not to mention much, much faster.

The Pragrafix template taped into place
BiIMw7Ql.jpg