My 1st Prop from Scratch - Hellboy's Big Baby Build Thread

rgriesbeck

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
So, I've been hanging out here a lot, reading a lot and absorbing. I've become a big fan of the community and was turned onto the RPF by Adam Savage's TED talk. I've posted quite a few Nerf guns here but have decided it's time to start a prop from scratch.

I've been a high-school 3d modelling/animation teacher for 15 years and it's sort of evolved into a new class I'm teaching next year called 3D Fabrication and prop design. The Nerf guns were the start, the kids love modding, painting and tricking them out with our 3D printers. But I guess to earn some "street cred", I'd decided to tackle Big Baby.

So far I've drafted up some 1:1 blueprints (based on the sideshow replica) and I'm starting to cut MDF and PVP pipes. My plan is for the gun to be made up mostly of MDF and PVP with a few 3D printed parts.

I'm open to ANY and ALL comments and advice. I'll try to post ongoing pictures. Wish me luck, I've seem some Big Baby build threads started, but never seen any finished :cry

Thanx

Here's my start, thanks to volpinprops.com for the excellent information on where/how to start. I printed this on our plotter and it looked ridiculously big, but when comparing to screen shots, and considering how big Hellboy is, I"m pretty sure it's right.

The Sideshow prop states size as 16" high x 10" wide x 28" long.

Some early planning pictures:

Big Baby
BigBaby_zpsb32aaa75.jpg

The Front of my Big Baby (still can't believe it's gunna be this big)
2013-03-14095544_zps0a87c9eb.jpg

The stock (and the pipes)
2013-03-14095806_zpscc1793c8.jpg

I'm going to have a go at building this soon too so will be watching closely. I bought the Sideshow one the other day buts its way to heavy to use as a cosplay weapon. If there are any detailed shots or measurements you would like from it just drop me a PM