AT-AT Driver costume build in a month

Pedro

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hi folks. This is my first project posted here, I thought I'd put up some pictures and info documenting the AT-AT Driver costume I'm trying to crank out in time for Halloween. The bug hits me every year with barely enough time to make something awesome, but I might pull it off this time. :) Special thanks to Clutch and others who built similar costumes, I've found tons of useful reference info on this forum. This costume isn't going to be 100% accurate (or even 80%), but I'm trying to capture the look on a budget and time crunch as best as I can.

It started with this helmet, a fairly poor resin recast I bought on eBay for about $40 a while back. It looks like a cast of a vinyl Tie Pilot helmet to me, based on the warping. Maybe Don Post? I'm no expert. It was fairly pock marked and the mohawk was a mess, but it's a good starting point. Here it is after stripping the first coat of primer (Rustoleum, wouldn't stick even after a thorough washing).

IMG_1773.JPG

I rebuilt the mohawk with plastic card (garage sale sign), corrected(ish) the mohawk front, ground off the screw details, did tons of filling and sanding. Here it is almost done in a coat of primer with dramatic dining room lighting. ;)

IMG_1964.JPG

I've never built hard wearable armor before, but here's my go at it. I originally planned to cast it in fiberglass from a plaster mold but will be vacuforming instead. Torso armor started as a sheet of pink insulation foam. This stuff is super easy to carve/sand into shape, love it! Being too cheap to buy two sheets I built up the depth only where required (since I wasn't planning to vacuform).

Front:
IMG_1806.JPG IMG_1807.JPG
Back:
IMG_1811.JPG IMG_1813.JPG