Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage) bust, critique and tips welcome.

powder monkey

This is the end of play day 1 of my first sculpt. I'm really looking for tips on how to get a better likeness for Peter Dinklage so any tips or good profile pictures would be awesome. I could also use tips on how to smooth and work with oil clay better so any tips/tricks you have would also be great. This is my first time working with any sort of sculpture so it's all guesswork at the moment.

At the moment it's looking more like a mask because I've run out of clay to do the back of his head or any hair. I'm more focused on getting a likeness in the face to begin with and then adding to it. I'm working in oil clay at the moment, planning on making a mold when I'm a bit more flush and the bust is fully completed. I'm even thinking I might do a full statue. I don't know the exact scale probably around 1:4

Thanks for looking!

IMAG0024.jpgIMAG0025.jpgIMAG0026.jpgIMAG0027.jpgIMAG0028.jpgIMAG0029.jpg

IMAG0048.jpgIMAG0049.jpgIMAG0050.jpgIMAG0051.jpgIMAG0052.jpgIMAG0053.jpgIMAG0054.jpgIMAG0055.jpg

I decided to start over because I couldn't see the wood for the trees. It seems every time I rework something it gets bigger in scale.

My lack of clay is becoming an issue but the site I bought this stuff from is closed and it was just described as "industrial oil clay" - no brand name. Is it OK to mix different brands of oil clay?

This **** is hard to get right.

EDIT: Dang, I just realised looking at the photos that he's starting to look like Daniel Craig. I really need to buy some more clay.

Last edited:
Thanks Blastin! I've ordered some more clay. I couldn't find the same clay so I've ordered monster clay since everyone seems to have good things to say about it. I don't know if it will mix well with the clay I have but I can test it out. I'm going to have a break until the new clay arrives so I probably won't update until monday.