WIP: Dune 1984 Guild Translator Staff

Logiwonk

Advice, Comments, Corrections welcome!

Hello all, this is my first attempt at recreating a movie prop. I think it's going to be a long process because I have sub-optimal working space and I'll need to develop several skills along the way, but that's part of the reason I'm attempt this.

Dune 1984 is one of my favorite movies and the Future-Sci-Fi-Medieval aesthetic is certainly part of that. I ran across a Guild Navigator custom for sale here on RPF and that reminded me how much I love that translator staff the Guild navigators use to communicate. It's big, it's clunky, it looks like it's 80 years old and was put together out of radio scrap and covered in grease.

Staff 7.PNG

So I decided to build one, and maybe get a arduino and speaker in the headpiece so I can push a couple buttons on the shaft to trigger particular clips from the movie such as "Remedy the situation or you will live out your life in a pain amplifier."

So first thing, measurements. I took a bunch of screen captures. Then I used the one above and measured different facial measurements and standardized them to 50th percentile male face measurements for reference, then took measurements of the staff and converted them to real-world cm. I got this:
measuremnts 1.PNG

Then I threw some of the basics into Sketchup to check and see if they made sense (Scaled Sketchup lady up to 5ft 10 inch avg male height for comparison, please excuse my basic sketchup skills just started using it today):
Sketchup 1.PNG

So my first reaction was I'm in the right ballpark but will need to refine a number of the measurements along the way, probably need to build a mockup in something cheap and just hold it to see how it looks and tweak measurements, then start breaking it down into components and thinking up materials and best techniques for making them. For one the thickness of the shaft does not see right compared to the size of the main box.