Winter Soldier Shoulder Harness Advice?

Fergal667

Hi all,

I am planning to create a Winter Soldier harness for my teenage daughter for a Comic-Con later in the year. I am a COMPLETE novice at this and have never worked with any cosplay materials at all. (I have sourced an imitation leather jacket and also plan to make the metal arm in due course.) I am starting with the harness as I *think* it will be an easier project to start with. I would welcome ANY advice.

The plan is to use 5mm EVA foam for the back piece. Using thinner foam to create the elevated sections. I intend to use PVA Foam Board to create the section which holds the Skorpion. I would use magnets on the Skorpion (a toy) and on the board so the thing will stick. Webbing material for the straps.

What I am really interested in is covering the whole back piece with fabric. I think I need 4 way stretch which I can easily obtain but I am keen on any advice on how to apply it to the foam. Contact cement seems to be the general consensus but how best to apply it so that I can stick it neatly and tight over the raised sections of the back piece. Do you stretch it on or just "place it on top" and then use something to press it into the various gaps and slopes?

(BTW - I am planning on going to the convention as Captain America - I am going to buy my suit but there seems to be a debate over the Cosplay Sky version and the White Sheep Leather version. It doesn't have to be exactly screen accurate. What are your thoughts?)

Here is the initial sketch of the harness design for reference. Would welcome any thoughts or advice from you more experienced designers. The bottom sketch is more accurate in terms of the angles involved.

Harness.jpg