Torbjorn (Overwatch) Indefinitely On Hold

Yrien

Sr Member
This project is (unfortunately) indefinitely on hold. Persistent neck/shoulder pain (and migraines to go along with it) means I am just not physically capable of working on it at the moment. My cosplay plans for this year are going to have to be a bit simpler, unfortunately. I'm disappointed, but I'll keep all my references, sketches, materials, etc. and hopefully have a go at it when I'm feeling better!

My big project for this year is Torbjorn, from Overwatch, to go with a group of friends. This is way bigger than anything I've tackled before, and I'm incredibly nervous about it!

Concept art:
Concept Art3.jpg

In game:
Torbjorn9.jpg

To date, I've been working on sketching out patterns for the armour pieces. I'm planning to make pretty much everything out of foam/worbla, as I've never done sculpting and casting before and don't think I'll have time to learn how to do that before my con (beginning of May). But now that the holidays are over, I need to start getting some actual work done on this!

Does anyone have any ideas about how to do the boots? Would I attach the pieces to an existing boot? I've never done anything like this before!

I'm also having problems patterning the breastplate/backplate. I was looking at medieval armour patterns to use as a base but since they're designed to be made from metal, which can be dished out to the rounded shape necessary, I don't think they'll work right with foam. Does anyone have any suggestions, or foam/pep patterns I could modify? I'm still very new at this sort of thing and am not good at making my own patterns.

As for the hair, I'm thinking of going with kanekalon hair. I'd ideally like to make reusable pieces instead of gluing hair directly to my face, in case I'd like to wear the costume more than once, but I'm not sure what to use as the base. Lace/tulle? Other fabric? Buy a cheap Halloween beard and build on top of it?